Water Part 2: Bottles and Bladders

**If you have not done so already, please help me and Kenny win a gear sponsorship. Information can be found here and you can vote here.**

Platypus Hoser Water Bladder \\ Weight: 4 oz \\ Capacity: 3.0 L

Platypus SoftBottle \\ Weight: 1.2 oz \\ Capacity: 34 oz or 1.0 L

Now that I’ve discussed how my water is treated, I am going to discuss how I will be carrying my water. For now I have 2 carrying items. The first is a 3.0 L Platypus water bladder that fits in a storage panel in my backpack (like most backpacks now days). I chose platypus over other hydration systems (such as CamelBak) because it’s so darn lightweight. I chose 3.0 L because I don’t actually plan to fill up my bladder all the way. I plan to fill it to about 2 to 2.5 L. I do this from a suggestion of a previous thru-hiker, Postcard, who I saw speak at REI. I never drink the full 3.0 L and on days I might, AT has plenty of water sources to refill. This allows my water bladder to flatten out a little bit more and fit in my pack better. The 3.0 L bladder will give me more surface area for the same volume of a 2.0L bladder.

The Platypus SoftBottle is a new addition to my gear. I originally had a 40 oz Klean Kanteen. However, while Kenny and I were weighing all our gear, we found it is much heavier than many water bottles on the market and we needed to find a way to shave ounces. For awhile, I was in denial about losing weight mainly because I LOVE my Klean Kanteen and was loathe to part with it. But eventually my practical side took over, and I decided it was time for a new bottle. So I got the slightly smaller volume but much lighter Platypus. This bottle is going to be used for camp and cooking, as well as a back up if I run out of water in my bladder. I’m going to use it to cook my dinner, brush my teeth, and any other campsite activities I may need it for. That way if I’m tired at the end of the night and the water source is “far” I can indulge my lazy side and already have my camp water.

Not pictured but something I am still considering as luxury item is Platypus’ PlatyPreserve wine storage bottle for those really mentally rough days. I first thought of carrying wine with me when I learned of Klean Kanteen’s Wine Karafe that carries a whole bottle of wine. This luxury would be a heavy one, especially if I had gone with the Klean Kanteen. However, the PlatyPerserve would make it a much lighter option and would roll up small and easily in my pack when it’s not full. And I would likely drink the wine over a day to two to get rid of the weight. I am not certain yet if this is a purchase I am going to make. I am still weighing the costs (weight) and benefits (yummy wine). Feel free to leave any advice suggestions or comments.

“Heaven is under our feet as well as over our heads” -Henry David Thoreau

Leave a comment