About Me and the AT

My name is Christina, I’m 24 years old, and starting March 10th I’m going to walk from Springer Mountain, GA to Mount Katahdin, ME. I currently live in Harrisonburg, VA with my boyfriend, a roommate and a cat. I have not always resided here. I grew up in Orange County, CA and first moved to Harrisonburg to attend James Madison University in 2006. Upon graduation, I moved to Philadelphia, PA to get my Masters of Medical Science from Drexel University. During my stay in Philly, I realized I am not a city person and needed to return to place I could be surrounded by trees, mountains, and open space and not concrete.

DSCN5622So while applying for graduate school, I moved back to Harrisonburg to live with my boyfriend, Kenny. He first put the idea of thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail into my head. Being from California, I didn’t know much about the AT until Kenny told me of his sister’s hike in 2008. Kenny and I have been together for almost 4.5 years and I couldn’t imagine a hike without him.

<<< That’s him! He likes taking pictures.

This blog will serve as a place to update my location and adventure for friends and family to follow along. It is also a place to organize my thoughts as I will have a lot of time to think while on my adventures. I will be including gear reviews from practice hikes and possibly as I go along. It will also be a space of memories of people and places.

To read a quick blerb about the AT, go here

Advertisements

One thought on “About Me and the AT

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s